Pharaoh

Pharaoh was transferred to another foster home. My feeling was that Pharaoh wasn’t very happy here and therefore not doing well. I don’t think he was happy confined to the foster room. But I didn’t dare let him out with Fae being so … testy. He wasn’t eating well, though he was happy enough whenever I went in to visit. He was supposed to be temporary anyway so he was posted on the intake/transfer list. Courtney, a brand new foster, stepped up to take him. She came to get him and he responded really well to her. We talked a while and, finally, I stuffed him in her carrier and off she went. The next day I got this:

Happy boy!!

When we first got home he was hiding for a while and I was a bag of nerves, just felt so bad that I had traumatised him! But I let him sort of have his little hiding spot but I was still able to reach him so every so often I would just give him a little pet and then leave him alone so he could get comfortable at his own pace but also know I was here and I wasn’t going to hurt him. And by the end of the night he was having me walk around with him to explore the apartment and eating! And even joining us on the sofa!! I was so relieved then!!

I woke up this morning and he had used the litter box and ate all his food!! And now he’s just chilling out in his spot and then coming up every so often to join me on the sofa getting loads of petting and attention!! 🙂

He was a little nervous with my boyfriend last night but then this morning was rubbing up against his legs too!

Sometimes a foster home and foster cat aren’t a good match. We don’t usually have the luxury of moving them but I’m so glad we did here. He is SO much happier with Courtney. He’ll blossom and heal (physically and emotionally) with her and be ready for his new — hopefully forever this time — home.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pharaoh

  1. glad you were able to find a foster home that meets his needs – part of what we do is doing what is best for THEM 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. derrycats says:

    It is a real gift to be able to admit that you’re not the right person for a cat. Has nothing to do with you or the cat…just the wrong fit. I’m glad a better one was available.

    Like

  3. Carol says:

    Wonderful story with a very happy ending!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

