Doing Something Right, I Guess

So, I’ve been a Foster Coordinator for almost a month. It’s been a bit of a rough ride. I nearly didn’t make it to week two. A lot of ups and downs and a very steep learning curve. And let’s face it — “hand-holding” isn’t my forté.

My attitude to cat rescue and fostering is that it’s all about the cats. I don’t believe in putting my feelings before what’s best for the cats. If fostering is about you, you’re doing it wrong, as far as I’m concerned. But it takes a village … and LOTS of foster homes to do what we do. So I’m willing to cut those, with softer hearts than mine, some slack.

Last week I went above and beyond helping one of my fosters get her kittens into a store. (Among other things it was a LOT of driving in rush hour traffic!) There had been some stalling and some high emotion from her daughter at having to say goodbye. I did it for the kittens though I had ulterior motives, too. I wanted the foster to see the store, meet the store coordinator, see how happy and settled the kittens were in their new, temporary home — hoping it would make things easier in the future. It went well and the kittens settled quickly.

The next day I got this message:

Thank you again for your efforts in keeping everybody happy: kittens and humans.
I asked Monica [daughter] how she felt and she said that you were so inspirational that she forgot about being sad.

. . . she forgot about being sad.” !!! That may be the best compliment I’ve ever received! Though honestly, all I did was keep up a constant stream of chatter about fostering on our very long drive!

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Doing Something Right, I Guess

  1. ah yes – people…the frustrating part of rescue MOL glad the daughter got a good lesson though

    Liked by 1 person

  2. that is one freakingly awesome compliment! Good for you for taking that time to do that. that email totally needs to be sent to your superior/manager 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, what an awesome note.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

