Fae and the Kids

Someone — gently — pointed out that I hadn’t been writing much about the “Fs”. Honestly, I was about to.

Sweet Fae gave me a scare last week. I came home one day and she’d vomited. She was a little off her food and vomited again the next morning. Such a good mama, she’s already thin and, like a kitten, can’t afford to lose much weight. So off to the vet. She didn’t have a fever but she was due for another deworming. So they gave her fluids and something for nausea and a deworming pill. When we got home she ate a little but soon vomited it back up. I gave her some treats and some baby food and they stayed down. I was super cautious about her food and stopped putting formula in the kittens’ food. (Fae was finishing it up and they’re still nursing anyway.) Since then she hasn’t vomited and her appetite is good and strong again. Whew.

The kittens are a funny little pair. Flynn is very nervous but, since he was the first to start eating food, I’ve won him over a bit with petting while he eats. Fern was also distant but then suddenly decided she liked petting and, while the others are eating, she tries to climb my leg for attention. Fern has also flatly refused to eat solid food. She’s acted like I’m trying to poison her! Then, just like that, yesterday morning, I looked in and she was at the plate, too. Like she’d always been there! She hasn’t done it again, but it’s a start. I’m going to try separate plates.

I think Fae’s been helping me (unlike Jasmine!!). It started when she wasn’t feeling well. Now I regularly see her sitting with the kittens snuggled up but not allowing them to nurse.

 

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fae and the Kids

  1. don’t you wonder how much time they spend each day plotting to make the humans even more nuts?? šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love how food goes from “EWWWW” to “YUMMM!!!”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

