A New Adventure

I’m going to be taking on a new role at Toronto Cat Rescue; Foster Coordinator. This means I’ll provide support to a group of foster homes — cat caretaking support and administrative support. I will help arrange vet visits when necessary, track foster cat movement in, through, and out of foster homes, arrange store space for adoption events. With 400 foster homes, Foster Coordinators are much needed! The ones we have are seriously over-worked and my foster coordinator is eventually moving out of daily coordination to managing the coordinators.

Of course I’ll still foster! That was a deal breaker. But I have to be my own Foster Coordinator. 😉

It means I’ll have to quit the Volunteer Centre. I was already wondering about that; one quarter of my weekend is a lot to give up though it was the travel that was most inconvenient. In good timing (for me!) the VC cat room has been shut down for a while during TCR’s upcoming transition period.

There are about to be quite a few changes at TCR. Not that the on-the-ground volunteers will notice much. But for too long, too few people have tried to run what is now a huge organization. They did a great job, but were in serious danger of burnout. Unlike many organizations, ours was seriously bottom-heavy! Some of the change highlights:

  • actively seeking new board members with a wider range of skills
  • creating three paid positions; executive director, volunteer manager (we have 900 of them, after all!), fundraiser (that one’s part time)
  • recruiting more Foster Coordinators (One of our coordinators manages 150 foster homes! That’s crazy.)
  • recruiting more Intake Coordinators (basically one person has been doing our intake!)
  • expanding the use of the Volunteer Centre (for humans)
  • re-working the cat care aspect of the Volunteer Centre
  • considering other mid-range managing/coordinating roles

I think the present board is doing a great job and going about all this change very thoughtfully. I’m excited to see what happens!

Bonus wrestling photos:

 

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Adventure

  1. Congratulations! You are going to do an awesome job! Purrs, Quicksilver et al

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wow – that is a huge organization….we had no idea. good luck with the new position!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 400 foster homes – that’s fantastic! And congrats on the new role. I know you’ll be great!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations! and I am sure you will bring a breath of fresh air into the position.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

