AAAUUUUGGGHHHH

Welcome to my worst* disappointment/disruption of plans in four years of fostering.

We had a plan. Jasmine and the Flowers were getting spayed/neutered. They’d recover for a day at my place. Then the potential adopters would come and choose two of the kittens. And then Jasmine and the others would go to Jen’s store. It was all set. All scheduled. I even had another feline family waiting to come, as soon as there was space.

But the vet noticed a mark on Jasmine’s face. They think it might be … ringworm. Aaauuuuggghhhh. I don’t see how it can be; she’s been here three months and the incubation period for ringworm is 14 – 21 days. But once the word has been said it can’t be unsaid. We can’t, in good conscience, adopt out any cat or kitten that may have been in contact with ringworm. And we certainly can’t send them to a store! And the test results take TWO WEEKS.

Even worse? Although they’ve been in quarantine the entire time they’ve been here, it hasn’t been strict quarantine. And any protections I’ve taken have been to prevent anything getting into the foster room. I was never concerned about anything getting out. They’ve been so healthy. 😦

At least they did have their surgeries but they’re back here for at least two weeks. That’s if the results are negative. If they’re positive?? Who knows. It can take weeks to clear up ringworm. WEEKS. It’s my fostering nightmare.

So I’ll hold my breath and try to enjoy them while they’re here.  And cross my fingers that the potential adopters will be patient and wait for them. But with the flood of kittens coming in, I’m worried.

And I’m heartbroken for the family that was supposed to arrive! It’s a mama, her three kittens and FIVE kittens she’s fostering. One human and sixteen feline lives on hold.

* in the grand scheme of things I should be grateful that this is the worst but I just can’t be
About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to AAAUUUUGGGHHHH

  1. ugh – the fungus. wish the test didn’t take 2 weeks. however, does your vet or rescue have a Woods lamp? it should fluoresce if it is the fungus

    Liked by 1 person

    • Heather says:

      Darn! Forgot about the lamp thing. This is not my regular TCR vet (this vet specializes in the pediatric spay/neuter) though they’re great. When this came up before with my regular foster vet, they used the lamp, but they also said it doesn’t always show up. It’s a TINY spot; maybe they even tried a lamp and are being cautious.

      Like

  2. Joanna K says:

    Ugh, what a huge inconvenience!! Fingers crossed that the test results are negative and the vet was just being thorough.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh no! Crossing fingers that it’s negative.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Connie says:

    ugh, I’m so sory

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

