Sparkle

Sparkle was a street stray and is about ten years old. She’s very friendly, so clearly has been a pet. She came into the shelter emaciated, with terrible teeth. The TCR vet took her for dental work. They were also spaying her but when they opened her up she had full blown pyometra! Nothing had shown in the blood work, no visual sign of infection. They got it all but it was quite a bit more complicated than they expected — quite a large spay scar and shaved right up and around her butt. 😦 AND she had the dental work done. Poor little thing must be feeling it (she has visible swelling on both her belly scar and jaw) but I’ve got pain meds for her and antibiotics, of course. Like I needed another reason to rant about spaying your pets!

She’s still very thin, and a little rough-looking, but we’ll fix that. She had two meals in her first two hours here and scarfed them both down so I’ve been trying to give her frequent, small meals.

Consider these her “before” photos:

She is SUPER affectionate and loves attention. I had three young visitors the other day and when they sat down she just walked back and forth across their laps enjoying the petting! She will calmly sit beside me (or on me) but as soon as I pet her she’s up head butting and rubbing her cheeks.

Oh, and I will happily entertain new names. I don’t usually bother to change a name but I really don’t like Sparkle.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sparkle

  1. Beautiful sweet Kitty! Human Mommy suggests “Glenda.” Purrs, Quicksilver et al

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 15andmeowing says:

    That poor kitty, I am glad she was rescued and is getting all the care she needs and love too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Katie, Olivia and Owen says:

    Olivia is suggesting Daphne. I like Hyacinth since you already have flower names going!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Elizabeth says:

    I like “Hope”, given her desperate state but sweet nature.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. All good suggestions! I’ll have to see. She may be moving to another foster — I was the emergency plan for getting her out of the closed-for-the-long-weekend vet’s office. Though that’s rarely worked out in the past! 😉

    Like

  6. Katie, Olivia and Owen says:

    True. They usually end up staying longer than expected, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Gabriella says:

    She’s such a sweetie. She needs a name giving strength and hope, what about Asha? It means hope in Sanskrit, alive in Swahili; it will also place her at the top of the adoption list when she’s posted on the TCR site. Please give us an update.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Connie says:

    Looks like a diabetic girl I fostered a few years ago with the name of Benny.. so I called her Miss Benny

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Aww, I’m so glad she ended up with you. Even if just temporarily.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

