Chaos and progress!

Last week, Catticus made a visit to a school (full post later when I get the photos). The day of her school appearance was supposed to be like a mini vacation for me. I was supposed to sleep in, relax over coffee, maybe tidy up a bit (never happens mid-week!), have some kitten visitors. That was my plan.

Reality? Catticus woke me up before 6am by licking my face. All over. No matter which way I turned. So I got up. When I went in the foster room to feed Jasmine it became very clear that at least some of the kittens have begun eliminating on their own. In the most difficult-to-get-to corner of the room! I had to move some stuff around (Jasmine was NOT impressed) to clean up. I’d just wiped the floor and was getting ready to wash it when Quince came along and peed! A LOT. So I know that at least s/he is going on her own. I washed the floor, put things back and set up another litter box. The watch begins.

I finally got to my coffee and was relaxing at the computer when Jonesy, in some sort of maniacal dance (seriously, I still can’t figure out what he did) knocked a little glass bowl off the shelf and smashed it — to smithereens. I jumped up, grabbed shoes, tossed Catticus in the bedroom and hunted down the dustpan and whisk. They’re in one of those stupid cupboards in a corner that you have to practically climb into to get anything. Of course I bumped my head. Despite checking and checking, from different directions, in different light, I managed to miss some pieces. I stepped on one but my feet are so tough it was ok — better me than soft cat pads! But in picking up a missed shard I stabbed my thumb. Tiny hole, lots of blood!

Later, a friend came to visit the kittens and, Lord be praised, there was pee in the litter box I’d set up on top of where they’d been going!! And we saw Lotus eat wet food and kibble! And he played interactively with visitors later in the day. Big development leaps for one day!

(Of course more progress/regress has happened since all this but I was busy posting cute photos of everyone. πŸ˜‰ )

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chaos and progress!

  1. don’t you hate when you have plans to breathe and the cats are all “not today lady” πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugh, what a start to the day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Connie says:

    YAY! for peeing in the box. booo for broken glass bowl. I hate it when that happens

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

