Pre-kittens

I wrote this a couple of days before the kittens were born and didn’t have a chance to post it.

Jasmine is shedding like crazy. I imagine it’s a combination of coming in from cold and hormones. It’s like nothing I’ve ever seen before:

This is with a regular brush not a fancy Furminator or anything. This is one day’s worth!!

img_6162 img_6163

(That’s not a tiny brush; the brush head is about four inches long.)

It so dry in here! And now she’s getting dandruff, too. I’ve started up the humidifier and hope that helps.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pre-kittens

  1. She looks like a cutie! Shedding is normal in pregnant Queens, her body was preparing for giving birth and so resources and energy were being diverted to more important processed than keeping the fur on her back. I knew a feral cat once who practically made a nest out of her own fur for her kittens. You are right, it’s a hormone thing and it should all settle down soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Katie, Olivia and Owen says:

    It even happens to humans. My hair was full and luscious a few weeks before Owen was born, and it was summer, and as soon as he was born it all came out. I had a bald spot on the front of my head. Luckily it grew back.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Connie says:

    I’ve had a few cats in that condition, it always breaks my heart.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

