Safe and sound!!

The kittens are here! I don’t think it was quite as easy as Oprah but Jasmine was a champ! She’d been very restless on Sunday. Monday she was very quiet. I wasn’t feeling well, so was home all day, checking on her periodically. Just after 8 pm I left for a few minutes to help a friend with something. When I got back — maybe 10 minutes later — I heard this weird squealing. I went in the foster room and … there was a squealing kitten!! (All black, boy?, 107g) Already cleaned off. She’d had it on the floor, just under the desk. I grabbed it and put it in the box. Jasmine was NOT impressed and promptly moved it back under the desk. I moved the box under the desk and put the kitten in. She pulled it back out. Ok, have it your way.

So we waited for the next one. And waited. And waited. Poor Jasmine was panting and having big contractions the whole time. After an hour, I was nervous. After 75 minutes I was freaking out. Finally after 90 minutes out came the second one! (All black, boy, 125g!!!) Number three (All black, 109g) and number four (All black, 116g) came pretty quickly after that. Jasmine was an amazing champ, cleaning, cutting cords, dealing with the afterbirth like she’d done it a million times before. Oh! I hope not but she’ll never have to do it again!

Once all four had arrived, I put them in the box, partway under the desk, and Jasmine was happy to stay with them. She was exhausted and just lay with the kittens. I made sure everyone had latched on at least once, cleaned up, left her a lot of food and went to bed.

The first three. You can see Jasmine still panting in labour.

All four, safe and sound. The box is partially tucked under the desk.

 

 

 

 

 

This morning Jasmine was awake and alert, proudly showing off her kittens and wanting praise and cuddles. 😉

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Safe and sound!!

  1. I would need maternity leave after just watching all this.

    Like

    • I was pretty tired. That 90 minute one scared me quite a bit. It’d be one thing if it was during the day and I could call the vet for reassurance, but contemplating another middle-of-the-night run to the emergency vet just about did me in! She was soooooo funny this morning. Jumping out of the box, chatting away, all “Look what I did! Look what I did!”

      Like

  2. Katie, Olivia and Owen says:

    Congratulations Jasmine!! How are you going to tell them apart? Are you still going with flower names?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Connie says:

    Good job Jasmine. You make beautiful kittens

    Liked by 1 person

  4. awww – a whole crew of house panthers. collars work and also a sharpie number or letter in their ears or a painted toenail short term. good job Jasmine

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sharon Murray says:

    Congratulations Mama! Who won naming rights???

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jen (who rescued her) had full naming rights and offered to let somebody name one. But Jen was the person who chose March 6!! Her husband had chosen March 7 and four kittens so he was very close. Jen is letting me and her husband each name one and she is naming the other two. Names will be announced tomorrow!

      Like

  6. Congrats to Jasmine!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

