Kitten watch

Waiting for kittens to be born is boring! It’d be nice if there was some way to spread out the work. Nothing to do while waiting. Little or nothing to do the first three – four weeks (if all goes well). LOTS to do in weeks four to eight!

Waiting is especially boring with a mama-to-be like Jasmine. (I know, careful what I wish for!) She’s so calm and placid. All she wants when I go in her room are pets and treats. Nice, but would it kill her to bat a toy once in a while? It also means fewer photo ops. Even I can only take so many pictures of her stretched out on the floor! šŸ˜‰

I found a nest box I liked and brought it home for her. My favourite are the heavy produce boxes from the grocery store. And it’s recyclable after the kittens are finished with it. I took down the crates and set up the room for kittens:

img_6144r

Notice it’s a cauliflower box? I didn’t until I got it home. šŸ˜‰

She was NOT impressed for the first few hours and hid under the desk all day. But later in the evening I looked in and she was lying in the nest box!

img_6146rThe next morning, the towels had all been rearranged. šŸ˜‰

I posted on the Foster Parents Page about her inactivity and refusal to play. Oprah was such an active, playful mom-to-be I wanted some reassurance. Our resident experts assured me her “laziness” is very normal. They then went on to advise me to look up videos on helping to cut the cord! Wait … what?? And that dental floss and a clean pair of scissors are my friends. ??? Please, please, Jasmine, be like Oprah. Oprah popped those little suckers out like it was nothing.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kitten watch

  1. Connie says:

    I have never needed dental floss or scissors. Well, that’s not 100% true. One cord was a little long and it just seemed uncomfortable so I trimmed it after it dried.. I guess I still didn’t “need” it.

    May the birth be complication free and soon..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

