A bit about the mama-to-be

Jasmine is not playful. She likes the catnip “kicker” I got her, but mostly for comfort/soothing I think. She doesn’t get frisky with it — just licking and loving. She got a look of absolute disdain when I tried the laser pointer. The feathers-on-a-stick seemed to make her angry. All Jasmine does is eat and sleep. Which is good for her health and the babies’ I suppose, but makes me sad. We have no way of knowing how long she was on the street but clearly long enough that play isn’t a priority. 😦  I hope the kittens will help her re-discover fun. In the meantime, I’ll keep trying different toys.

img_6125r

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A bit about the mama-to-be

  1. Katie, Olivia and Owen says:

    Have you tried crinkle balls? They are Bree’s favourite! Could it be that she is just a bit uncomfortable because of the pregnancy?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hope you find something she likes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gabriella says:

    I think if I had been living on the street and had 4+ kittens growing inside of me I’d be demanding room service and massages:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. tarnegolita says:

    Oh that poor sweet girl… I have a girl who was on the streets for god knows how long, all she did was eat in the beginning but now she is our most playful cat! 💚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I wonder if she would be a fan of the Da Bird toy!?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I *still* have never tried Da Bird despite the rave reviews; everyone has always been happy with something else. I’ve been assured by some of the more experienced-with-queens fosters that this is totally normal. Apparently my first queen (Oprah, very playful) was a bit of an anomaly. As long as eating and litter box activity is normal (it is) I’ll assume she’s just busy growing babies. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, totally normal. My three girls are the worst when it comes to toys! I joke that they are the laziest cats ever because we literally have every toy on the market. Da Bird gets them excited for the most part, but it works on 98% of the cats I’ve tried it on! (I used to be a cat-sitter) It sounds like she may be motivated by some nice, fancy treats!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Connie says:

    I bet something with rabbit fur would interest her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

