It’s deja vu all over again

Here’s the answer to last week’s teaser. Remember Oprah? Here we go again.

jasmine-1r

Jen’s photo

Another all black pregnant queen! Though short-haired, she is also a small, solid little cat. Apparently sweet Jasmine is the first TCR queen of the 2017 kitten season. As so often happens with known cat lovers, she was rescued from the streets and turned over to my fellow volunteer Jen, store coordinator extraordinaire! Jen can’t foster but she still took this sweetie and cared for her in her garage. A vet exam confirmed she’s about halfway through her pregnancy. At least we won’t (I hope!!) have the uncertainty that I had with Oprah.

Jen gets first dibs on naming rights. But, yes, I’ll entertain name suggestions, though no princess/prince themes, I think.  Maybe flowers? Are there masculine flower names? 😉 Maybe scents? Definitely want to stay away from these:

2016namesThough there are two flower names listed! It’d have to be more unusual flower names!

Knowing Jasmine is healthy and having the approximate due date are both nice changes from Oprah! I’m saying March 7th, Jen says March 6th — and five kittens. Jen’s husband says March 7th and four kittens. Anyone else? She’s quite small — for now. Any guesses? I’m not guessing on numbers.

So far, Jasmine seems happy, though she was sad to see Jen and her husband leave. On Jen’s suggestion I’m crating her until she’s comfortable with me. She seems very content to just hang out in the crate, though she LOVES the cardboard scratcher (with just a hint of catnip) that I put in with her. Jen told me she insisted on lying on the bare floor of the crate and/or the cement floor of the garage. I set her up with a nice bed and, of course, same thing here – she staked out the bare floor of the crate. But then last night:

jasmine_feb13-17

Notice no bars on the photo? The door to the crate was propped open. 🙂

I suspect the catnip “kicker” at her feet had something to do with her change of … heart?

 

 

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It’s deja vu all over again

  1. tarnegolita says:

    Oooh kittens!! I shouldn’t be happy but really… Who doesn’t love kittens! 😍 Welcome Jasmine! Yes definitely go for flower names! What do you think of Iris (my name?)? 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    • I know — I’m always torn about kittens. I like Iris, but it’ll be up to Jen. I’m Heather — also a flower. (Ok, a weed). Apparently it’s also known as Erica. But Jen and I were laughing at funny flower names like “Bee Balm” and “Buddleja”. I’m dying to name a kitten “Bee Balm”. Hee.

      Liked by 1 person

      • tarnegolita says:

        Bee Balm! That’s great! 😂 I love your name “Heather”, very pretty! I like Bluebell, Lotus and Peony too. I’m sure there are lots of unusual flower names – boys might be a bit difficult though! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. she’s a cutie…. We have done flowers twice – it was easier with the all girl group, but we managed to find some flowers that sounded like boys (we still are fostering Dandelion). The only hiccup was one kitten was named Hyacinth until mom realized he was a boy….however due to the magic of google, we discovered another name for Hyacinth is Muscari and that was much better.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Marc-André says:

    Awwww reminds me a lot of Nubia our own black rescue cat. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Maaike says:

    Asphodel, Dandelion, Hazel, Hawkbit, Buckthorn (yes, I’m definitely pulling from “Watership Down” for male flower names).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Connie says:

    I apparently need to move down south.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Can’t wait to see the little ones when they arrive!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Good Morning! How about Aspen for a boy!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Place your bets! | Adventures in Cat Fostering

Leave a Reply

