NORM!

Somehow I always see his name in caps with and exclamation mark. As a child of television, I can’t help it.

What a sweetheart. He needs meds for his hyperthyroidism and though I was told he’s easy to pill I was also told he’ll take it in his food, too. I gave him his first meal and hid the pill in it. He only ate half the food but — in what may be a first in the history of domesticated cats — he ate the half with the pill in it! He didn’t seem that keen on the food. He needs fattening up so I thought I’d give him the open leftovers of kitten food I had. Then I tried one of the fancy name brands labelled “for intense beauty”. He actually seemed offended. Clearly, he knows he’s beautiful enough already. Then I tried the store brand beef flavour. It disappeared almost before I could turn around! “More please”. Got it; no froo-froo food. You’re a manly man. (Emphasized later when he ate around the vegetables in the “stew” flavour I gave him!)

So far he’s not interested in play. Just snoozing and snuggling. The other night I went in to spend some time with him. Typically (especially with the shy ones) I lie on the floor and read out loud. I figured with him I’d just read to myself; shy he’s not! But he wouldn’t settle, winding around me and walking between me and the book. Until I started reading out loud. Then he lay down and rested his head on my arm! I melted a little. Ok, a lot. Then this happened:

img_6073rSo we sat there like that for a while. When I eventually took the book away I got hissed at! Apparently he has a grouchy side.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NORM!

  1. I love that you read out loud to your fosters!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Connie says:

    That’s pretty much how I see his name too. 🙂

    Jack is like that, willing to eat what has a pill in it. What a riot that he turned his nose up at that food (and veg)

    Give him an ear scritch for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Another new adventure | Adventures in Cat Fostering

Leave a Reply

