Whirlwind!

I’ve talked about things changing fast before, but the last 48 hours beats anything in my time of fostering! In that time I’ve gone from three fosters to one — one who isn’t any of the original three!

There I was, minding my own business, thinking we were in a holding pattern. I thought we were waiting for a fecal re-check on the kittens and I had asked for a re-foster for Chaz, before Bella comes to stay for a while next month, but we had some time before that.

Then I happened to send an innocent email to our Intake Coordinator mentioning a cat I saw the vet’s when I stopped by. Turns out she was trying to figure out how to free me up to take him! Badda-bing, badda-bang, badda-boom; before I know it,  the kittens have moved to one of our partner stores and look who I picked up from the vet:

img_6066r

Notice the spit bubble of happiness? Yes, he’s a drooler. 😉 (the shaved cheek is because he had an abscess; it’s all good now.)

img_6070r

Toy is for scale. LOOK at that paw!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Apparently, especially when we’ve hit them so hard with multiple medicines, we don’t re-check unless they’re still showing symptoms. The kittens — for the first time since I’d had them — had normal, formed stool! I loaded them up and then did a quick clean and disinfect of the room. I dropped them at our main partner store which has almost full-time volunteers, so lots of monitoring and lots of attention.

After dropping the kittens and doing a couple of errands, I swung around to the vet’s office and picked up Norm. He’s 8+ years old and hyperthyroid. I don’t know much else. He’s a declawed stray transferred from TAS and had already captured the hearts of everyone at the clinic when I met him!

Chaz did indeed get scheduled to move to another foster — the same one who took sweet Bella a few months ago. She’s ready for an outgoing and friendly cat and he’s ready to have all the attention for himself! A perfect match, to be executed early this week. But, in the spirit of the last couple of days, he was adopted before he could move!! A really lovely couple. I got the call Saturday night and in minutes we’d arranged the meet and greet for Sunday afternoon. They came in, sat down, and he was ALL OVER THEM. Talk about love at first sight. They already have a seven-year-old female. I stressed the importance of a very slow and gradual introduction given his history. Fingers crossed.

Polly was adopted by lunchtime on Sunday; just over 24 hours! And Molly was adopted a few hours later just as Chaz was leaving.

WHEW!

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Whirlwind!

  1. Katie says:

    What a crazy weekend you had!! And Norm is a cutie! I have to say, I love the droolers!! The first cat I had on my own was a drooler. He would lie on my chest with his paws around my neck and drool, sometimes getting on my mouth😝

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Connie says:

    oh goodness, he is handsome. I bet he is snapped right up despite the hyperthyroid diagnosis.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. tarnegolita says:

    Oh, oh, wait… What? LOL! That is all great news, all of them adopted! Norm looks so sweet, I hope he follows soon x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a handsome fella! And yay for the adoptions!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

