Still here

The girls are still here. And not for a good reason. They’re fine, their spay surgeries went fine. Molly’s broken leg is healed (though caution is recommended for a while still) and they’ve been declared lice-free (YAHOO). So what is the problem you ask?

For some time, Polly has had diarrhea. Not bad and certainly not affecting her progress or growth. But persistent. My foster coordinator had me stop feeding them canned food and I started a probiotic. Things seemed to be improving — certainly the smell was a WHOLE lot better. But the night before their vet visit I was playing with Polly and she seemed to be … how shall I put this delicately … leaking. I mentioned it when I arrived at the vet office and asked them to check her butt. They recommended a stool sample test. Mostly to rule out giardia (they’d already been treated for “regular” worms). But then, when I took Polly out of the carrier (and I had noticed a smell in the car) she had stuff on her butt. Not normal stuff. Nicole thought it might be pus but there was no pus smell. Then we noticed there was quite a bit on their towel. Nicole tried to get a sample but it wasn’t enough. And the kittens didn’t provide a sample the rest of the day. Even if a sample had been acquired, they still would have had to come home to wait for the results. Now I have to get a sample (and try and get it from the right kitten!) AND wait for results. If it’s giardia, they’ll both have to be treated but if it’s some kind of infection, it looks like only Polly has it.

I still took the opportunity (of them being sleepy and in a carrier) to properly clean the room. I moved the cages and cleaned underneath, even. Then put everything — including kittens — back. Fifteen minutes later:

img_6055Not from roughhousing, obviously, they were hardly awake. No, this is what Polly does. She tosses the food from the dish! Maybe they both do it, but I’ve only seen Polly do it. It would be one thing if she then ate it from the floor, but she doesn’t.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Still here

  1. tarnegolita says:

    Some of my cats do this! Take the food out of the bowl some distance away, then eat it there. Go back, repeat. But Polly doesn’t eat it you said? Very mysterious! Cats!! 😏

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh geez! Hoping for the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Connie says:

    *sigh* I so totally hate the ‘put them on dry food’ solution for diarrhea. That would be like you eating nothing but saltines and not drinking water when you have it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

