More rule breaking

I am the most rule-following of rule-followers. People who don’t line up for the bus properly make me crazy! But Toronto Cat Rescue is turning me into a rebel. (Hahahahahahahaha!)

Meet Bear (who puts us over the limit):

bear_intake

His intake photo.

Isn’t he AWESOME? Yes, he has blue eyes and yes, his ear is tipped. I know almost nothing about him except that he’s been at Toronto Animal Services as a stray since August. And he just had dental surgery — I picked him up from the vet clinic. He’s very gentle, leaning to timid. I’m going to guess that he didn’t show well at the shelter. That and he’s FIV positive. My first, as far as I know! Not by design — I haven’t rejected any fosters for it, it just hasn’t come up before. At least not since the very beginning. Fortunately, TCR has a great adoption record for FIV+ cats; we work very hard at education.

He’s very big; he’s a big boy, but he’s overweight, too. A month ago he weighed 8.77kg (19.3lbs)!! I don’t imagine he’s lost any weight since then. I CAN’T WAIT to see Kira beside him!!! I’m hoping she’ll start an exercise programme for him the way she has for Murphy. 😉

Both Murphy and Kira had a peek at him through the crate and there was no reaction on either side. I hope that bodes well for an early release from the bathroom where he is now; he’s already letting me know that he thinks freedom is better. (He has the tiniest little, plaintive meow!)

 

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to More rule breaking

  1. he is very handsome….and in great hands. so glad TCR takes FIV cats and educates people that it isn’t a big deal

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Connie says:

    You rebel you!

    Nice to meet you Bear. I hope you are feeling better and are trimmer in no time, and that someone snaps you up before we even get to know you.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Shannon says:

    He is amazing! When I fostered for TCR, I had a soft spot for the big ol’ tom cats. This guy reminds me of a few of those dudes. How old is he?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Not sure. I don’t think there’s any reason he can’t be posted right away. He has a few days of post-op antibiotics left but it usually takes a couple of days to get the posting up. And it usually takes me a little time to get decent photos for the posting! The max would be two weeks.

    Like

    • Shannon says:

      Hi, I’m sorry to be bothering you, but I am interested in adopting Bear. I need to know how he does with other cats as I have two. I’d also like to know how he does with dogs as I have occasional dog visitors. Can I apply to adopt him even if he hasn’t been posted?

      Like

      • Are you kidding??? That’s NO bother!! He’s officially up for adoption on Friday. He’s not posted, and no, he doesn’t have to be posted. You can apply, as usual, through the website and specify him (you can mention me, Heather Davies, as the foster. It might make it easier to find him in the database). He’s GREAT with the other cats. There’s been a lot of ignoring and when Kira bugs him he just pushes her away. He’s going to meet my occasional dog visitor on Friday, probably, so I can update you about dogs then. I am home all next week so if you wanted to come and meet him we could arrange that. Email me: heatherleed [at] gmail.com

        Like

  5. He is so adorable. I can’t wait to see the Kira/Bear pics, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Murphy: Mighty or Mouse? | Adventures in Cat Fostering

Leave a Reply

