Bits and pieces

Kira and Murphy had one of those awesome slap fights you see on the internet all the time. Unfortunately, they were between me and the camera.

forgifs.com

(from “forgifs.com”)

The kittens are doing well. I was hoping to allow some brief mingling but I combed Polly and saw some lice eggs. 😦  So hard to get pictures of them through the cage! They were very stinky and still had diarrhea but I think/hope it’s finally clearing up after their second de-worming. Fingers crossed. I finally heard Molly purr! She has a new habit after dinner of kneading on one of the stuffed animals and purring. Of course she stops as soon as I pick her up. 😦  But it’s a start. Polly, on the other hand, purrs as soon as I pick her up and kneads on my shoulder. So sweet.

img_5913r

Polly (r) and Molly (l)

Jonesy has become addicted to spinach! He’s always liked greens and he was bugging me recently when I was cooking. I gave him a piece and he loved it! Now he appears as soon as the spinach does — he must be able to smell it. I give him a couple of leaves (baby spinach) and he’s happy for hours.

The Volunteer Centre is closed over holidays. All the cats/kittens have been placed in foster homes. Any new ones in the next couple of weeks will go straight to foster homes; old school. 😉 The big news is that our new washer and dryer arrived! We’ve been struggling with used machines that don’t wash or dry properly and are temperamental at the best of times. New machines will be so luxurious. But the best news? For the first time since August (except when I was the cottage) I’ll have a day when I don’t have to do anything. I can stay in my pyjamas all day if I want*. 🙂

We had our company holiday lunch the other day. I usually supply (this year I bought) the table decoration and did again this year however the host (we have it in someone’s home) is leaving the country so I brought it home with me. It’s quite nice and simple; just a gerbera daisy with some nice greens, a pine cone and a some sparkly bits:

img_5911The next day I came home to this:

img_5907 and this:
img_5908

 

 

 

 

 

Someone (and I think it was more than one someone) had ripped all the petals off the daisies! Clearly they didn’t eat them; it would seem destruction was the name of the game. Jerks.
img_5909The worst news of the week? My washing machine died. Disaster! Especially when I have two kittens! The dirty towels are rapidly piling up. 😦  I’m hoping to find a used machine, possibly a used set. My dryer is fine but it may be difficult to get just a washer of the size/style I need to get. Worst case scenario is brand new. The apartment–sized, stacked sets are more expensive than a full size set — a lot more expensive!

*Unless by some miracle I’m having a new washer installed.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bits and pieces

  1. Katie says:

    If you need appliances check Lowe’s, and they price match with an additional 10% off for 30 days after your purchase. You can also apply for a Lowe’s card at the time of purchase and they give you 12 months to pay it back.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Connie says:

    purrs you find a good deal on the washer.

    Will Molly continue to purr if you just pat her?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I guess they showed those flowers who’s boss!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

