Kira

Kira is the sweetest thing. But late last week she was so congested she stopped eating. I haven’t had enough time since Jellybean to be prepared for this. 😦  I got permission to start her on antibiotics and started syringe feeding her. She didn’t hate it as much as JB did, so that’s something.

img_5864r img_5866r

I took these two photos to try and capture her weird way of snoozing. Her back end is sitting straight, in “toaster position”, but her front end is curled around like in “C” position. It’s quite odd to see. It’s from when she was at her worst congestion so maybe, somehow, it was easier to breath?

Fortunately, she’s young and is bouncing back quickly. One evening of syringe feeding and she started eating again. But only kibble (and Temptations). I was practically begging her to eat some wet food. I put some in her mouth and she ate it but then went back to the kibble. Finally, in desperation, I put the wet food dish on top of the kibble. She ate it!! Cats are weird. She still prefers kibble but we’ll work on it.

She’s been very subdued. Hasn’t played AT ALL. I was hoping it’s because she hasn’t been feeling well. She’s still a kitten and should be driving us all crazy! She completely ignores the resident cats — like they’re invisible! But she got quite excited when she saw Molly and Polly. Even tried to break into their room! Makes me wonder if she had a litter.

She’s been more active the last couple of days (since starting meds) but still wasn’t playful. She loves to just sit beside me on the couch and she was snuggled up to Bella when she was with us one night last week.

img_5874rFinally, last night we had a breakthrough! I’ve been trying ALL the toys with her and nothing worked. Murphy was chasing the red dot last night and she joined in — kind of half-heartedly. I threw her a couple of catchable toys and she ignored them. So I dug around in the toy basket and came up with a tail-on-a-stick. Bingo! Such a hit. She continuted to play with it after I let go. Later she and Jonesy had a game of tag! And this morning she gobbled down all her wet food before I even gave her any kibble. I think she’s feeling better. 😉

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kira

  1. tarnegolita says:

    Aw poor thing! Hope she’ll be totally ok soon! 💚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Connie says:

    purrs that she is feeling better soon

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Glad she’s starting to feel better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

