Loose ends, sort of

Oprah’s been adopted! By her foster person! I could tell she (the human) didn’t want to leave her at the adoption event last weekend. Sometimes that’s all it takes to push a foster over the edge!

Sloan had to go back to the vet for a suspected umbilical hernia. It’s not necessarily serious, she just needs to be kept quiet. I got this from the amazing Jen:

The Newsroom kittens were all doing great last night! They seem to have calmed down a bit and very comfortable in their new space. Not a single one attempted to run out of the crate. 🙂 One of our volunteers offered to drive Sloan to the vet today and picked her up just before the store closed last night to spend the night at her place because it worked out better that way. I don’t think we have to worry about Sloan being on her own [we had discussed this earlier because she’s the most timid] … this is what my volunteer wrote me this morning about her …

She’s great. I love her purr, it is a deep throaty purr unexpected from such a little girl. I finally had to hold her to get her to sleep but then she was back up at 3am wanting to play. It was like having a newborn baby again and I was begging her to sleep!!
 
I’m going to see if one of our volunteers can take her home over the weekend and bring her back to the store on Sunday evening. Hope that works out. 🙂

And later this:

Update: Our store volunteer that dropped Sloan off to the vet this morning was in that area today so has picked her up and is now bringing her back to Kingsway to meet another one of our store volunteers who will be taking her home from there and returning her to our store Sunday at 5pm. 🙂

I’m hoping to visit them on Sunday after my shift at the Volunteer Centre, but it doesn’t sound like Sloan would be back by then anyway.

Jellybean/Jelly Bean is an awesome cat!! I let him out last night and, other than him giving the place the “once over”, it was like he’d always been there. After nearly two weeks in the Volunteer Centre basement, he LOVES the window — which I could finally open since we magically cooled off on the first full day of fall! Jonesy did some butt-sniffing which Jellybean ignored, Murphy ignored him, feline Bella wasn’t afraid of him. He had a good sniff of canine Bella while she was curled up on couch but just jumped down and walked away.

harmony?

Very hard to see; Murphy at the very left, Bella in the centre, Jellybean on the far right.

He claimed the top tier of the cat tree at bedtime which will NOT win him any points with Murphy. However, he’s bigger than Murphy and that definitely seems to have an impact on how Murphy treats a new foster, I’ve found. He won’t shy away from taking on a bad-mannered bigger foster, but Jellybean is so calm and laid back.

Poor feline Bella had another set back. Murphy has taken a dislike to her for some reason and tends to chase her. I was very happy to see her stand up for herself the other day. Not sure what’s going on with Murphy. I didn’t mention it, but he had a knock-down drag-out fight with Jonesy just after we got back from the cottage. He hasn’t been any different with me but this aggressive streak is new.

 

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Loose ends, sort of

  1. Katie says:

    Heather, I was so happy for Oprah I cried. If you had seen her at the 2 stores your heart would have broke. She wasn’t herself at all. She looked almost angry. I knew this wasn’t the Oprah that we knew. She seemed a little better in the store that allowed us to pet her but the first store has a store cat that is allowed to walk around. She was not impressed with her.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. tarnegolita says:

    That is great to hear that Oprah has a forever home!! I always wondered how cat fosterers manage not to adopt every cat that comes to their house! Imagine what your house would look like now 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is so wonderful for Oprah!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Connie says:

    congratulations to Oprah’s new people 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

