Hello Goodbye

Aside: anyone else see that show? Love it, can’t wait for the new season. If you decide to watch, keep your kleenex handy. Not sure if it’s available in the US.

The Newsroom kittens left yesterday! It was very sudden. They were booked for their spay/neuter surgeries but I was under the impression they were coming home. When I got to work, after dropping them at the vet, I had two different emails offering two different store spaces! I was allowed to pick. Much as I am thrilled they’re going to my TCR friend Jen’s store (Jen is a fellow bowlathon committee member and the store coordinator for one of our partner Pet Valu stores) it was the readily available parking that tipped the scales! Just kidding. I’ve been trying to get my fosters into Jen’s store for months. She goes the extra mile, preparing proper bios for potential adopters, writing up her charges for the website (so I don’t have to!), she encourages the store staff to interact with the cats/kittens, and lots more. Plus … updates!

20160921_180147r

See? Jen already sent me a picture!

I’m so glad they’re going there. Also, this store is across from the Volunteer Centre and part two of my assignment was to pick up one of the Volunteer Centre cats!

Meet Jelly Bean:img_5594rI’m pretty proud I got a photo even this good after THREE HOURS of driving. (This city is stooopid and construction is still in high gear. ) Although it makes his head look very big. In fact, he’s a big boy and his head — in real life — looks normal or even a little small.

Poor guy is an owner surrender. We think he has allergies. He’s undergoing treatment and has to go back to the vet in a couple of weeks. He’s got some meds and a special (though commercial) diet. It’s just a no-chicken food, so once he’s integrated, I’ll put Murphy and feline Bella on the same food so I don’t have to worry about him.

He’s a sweet, sweet boy, who everyone at the VC loved. They discovered that he’d only eat if you petted him first! He’s extremely chill (except for in the car) and walked out of his carrier and went straight to the scratching post for a good stretch. He doesn’t even seem to care that it still smells of kittens! (Though I gave him a new litter box.) He’ll be here for a bit; he won’t even be listed until after his follow-up vet visit, at least. That way we can give any potential adopters a clearer picture of what his deal is. We have another big adoption event later in October; maybe he’ll make it there!

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello Goodbye

  1. good luck kittens!!!

    and welcome Jelly Bean – he is handsome!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Connie says:

    You need to send Jen some flowers or bake her something or something.. people like that are so rare.. you are lucky

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad they went to a preferred store. Good luck to them! And no, I’ve never seen that show 🙂 I think you’re right. It doesn’t look like it’s available in the US.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jellybean is such a sweetheart, but I guess he dislikes Toronto traffic as much as we do! I’m glad you’re fostering the handsome boy, Heather, but I miss his lovin’ at the VC.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

