Some bits and pieces

TCR had a big adoptathon this past weekend. Friday-Saturday-Sunday in three Petsmart stores. I worked as a “cat-watcher” (adoptions were closed but the store was still open) on Friday night and did clean up duty Saturday morning to get everyone spiffed up and ready to meet the public.

I saw Oprah on Saturday morning! Sadly, she’s been in a store and then in foster care all this time (since May). She was at the adoptathon I was helping out with. I haven’t heard if she was adopted, but I don’t think so. She’s gotten really BIG but is still sweet. I don’t think she recognized me.

Last I heard we had 56 adoptions, 17 at the store I was at. I don’t think Oprah was one of the lucky ones. But that was adult cats only!! We didn’t have any kittens at the event. The store I was at has not been a success for us in the past, so 17 was amazing.

I got an update on Ace from his adopter:

Ace is now called Stormy. He is getting really big – almost 10 lb! He is a very sweet fellow, full of fun and curious about everything. He now has his “big-boy” fur which is long and silky black and still has his white patches on his belly. My husband and I enjoy his company every day.

Baloo was finally adopted (not at the official event)! She’s been at our PetSmart adoption centre this whole time (except for a brief time in foster care on the Labour Day long weekend). I’d JUST (hours before) had an exchange with the intake coordinator about how disappointing it was that she hadn’t been adopted. That she was quite the little social bug now and there’d been some interest but nothing had panned out. Hurray for little Baloo!

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Some bits and pieces

  1. That’s wonderful that so many adult cats were adopted! I hope Oprah gets adopted soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Katie says:

    I am so sad about Oprah. I have seen her at two different Pet Value stores. The woman at the first store claimed that she had been adopted but I knew better. I hope it is not much longer.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. wow….that is a great number of adoptions. we will keep our paws crossed that a family finds Oprah soon

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Connie says:

    I hope Oprah’s family shows up soon.

    56 adoptions is pretty awesome

    Liked by 1 person

  5. tarnegolita says:

    So glad to hear about Ace! Hope Oprah gets adopted… šŸ’š

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

