Oh! the Adventures!

Yesterday, as I staggered out of bed and headed for the bathroom, I saw a black blur cross the hallway. Wait, what? What was that? I found Manxie in the kitchen. The crate was closed, the towel barrier for the gaps was in place. How had he managed to get out? I put him back and went on with my morning. When I looked again, he was out again! I grabbed him and put him back.

I gave Ace his third-last dose of antibiotics.

I went in to give Baloo her pain meds and breakfast and couldn’t find her! I looked in all her usual hiding places. I had noticed that between the Trees and Baloo, they’d made a hole in the plastic covering the books. I ripped it down and, sure enough, there she was behind some books. I pushed all the books in (so no hiding behind them) and gave her the pain meds and breakfast. I also noticed that someone (probably post-surgical Baloo) had vomited so I had to clean that up.

When I went out, Manxie was gone AGAIN. And I couldn’t find him. I set up a little litter box beside the crate, just in case, but a few minutes later I spotted him and got him back in the crate. This time I made myself sit and watch. Sure enough, a few minutes later he tried again. He was pushing the towel down and climbing out but it was springing back so there wasn’t a gap showing. I did some safety pin magic and hoped everyone would be present and accounted for when I got home (they were). Then I fed them breakfast. I decided their eyes are doing so well I’ll cut down treatment to once a day. Less stress for all of us.

Finally, I loaded Ace up to bring to work. He’s so lonely and starting to hate quarantine. I had Bella and the car so I figured why not? He was completely silent in the car. After a quick once-over of my office, he was purring and playing like nothing had happened. He loves Bella. He must have had a dog around in his previous life. He such a happy little guy. He really needs some cat lessons, though. He doesn’t know how to jump properly; he scrambles. And when he tries to jump in your lap, he stands on his hind legs, wraps his paws around your leg, and hops up and down like a puppy. It’s adorable and sad at the same time. He had a great time at the office and was quite happy to collapse into his little bed when we got home. No crying about quarantine. (Bella, too, gets worn out by her trips to the office. She collapse on her favourite chair when she got home. )

Oh! How I wish everyone could be in with Raksha and Baloo! I just know it would be good for everyone — including Raksha and Baloo.

 

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh! the Adventures!

  1. Connie says:

    You plan, kittens laugh

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When are you getting a kitty cam?!? I think one is called for with the escape artist around.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

