Oh, Jonesy! and another crazy day

So, I think I’ve mentioned Jonesy’s little problem before. He has slightly unusual anal glands and they have to be expressed on a pretty regular basis. I’ve let it go a little longer than usual but he wasn’t showing any symptoms until recently. What are the symptoms you ask? For him, scooting, frantic litter box scratching many times in a row (it’s uncomfortable for him to go) and, frankly, odor. And let me tell you it’s pretty much the worst smell ever.

I made an appointment for after work. I was hoping to take Raksha in and leave for her spay surgery but they were too full. So I rushed home, grabbed Jonesy, and rushed back to the vet. The usual method is that I hold his head and front paws while the vet works at his, er, back end. We even had a third person this time. All of a sudden, there was a gasp and an “OH!”. His poor gland was so full that practically as she touched it, it expressed rather forcefully, and in some physics-defying motion, managed to get on me (!!!!) and on my knapsack that I hadn’t taken off. I hung on to him as she went for the other side. It, too, had a hair-trigger and sprayed across the room hitting the door! The vet got some on herself and in her hair. Nicole, the technician who was helping was frantically trying to keep track of the spray and wipe it off me (and the knapsack). I am not exaggerating when I say that one TINY drop of that vile stuff will haunt you until you change or shower or both.

To top things off, they’d had a cancellation and wanted Raksha to be admitted. I could have delivered her the next morning, but fasting her would have been difficult with Baloo alongside. So when we were finished with Jonesy I rushed home again, scooped up Raksha and rushed back (Smelling that horrible smell the whole time!). Halfway there I had a horrible thought: what if, in my haste, I grabbed the wrong one?! Raksha is very, very tiny! So when I got there we quickly checked that I had the right cat. Whew. She was so scared, but Nicole could hold her and cuddle her and she didn’t struggle. In fact, I saw her lean into a cheek skritch. Of course if the vet finds that she is, in fact, pregnant she’ll just come home again, dewormed. But we’re really, really hoping not. Nicole didn’t think so.

And Baloo? We played last night and this morning he didn’t run away from me! He was just under the desk and when I brought his food in he let me pet him and skritch his cheek without running away. Awesome!

 

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Oh, Jonesy! and another crazy day

  1. Shannon says:

    I was fostering a very cat aggressive cat once and the sneaky little guy got between my legs when I was trying to get into his room with supper. He made an immediate beeline for a sweet, quiet female I was also fostering, cornered her under my bed and she was so terrified she lost control of her bowel, bladder and anal glands. I needed to move the bed to break the fight up (not entirely accurate as she didn’t really fight back) and of course scrub the wall and carpet. It didn’t really matter though because the anal gland smell instantly sunk into the carpet and wouldn’t be washed out with anything. It took weeks for the smell to go away completely. I’m pretty sure he was adopted out before the last traces of him faded from my apartment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Connie says:

    My Jack has such loose anal glands that he lets them go when I comb him.. it is smelly stuff that brings all the cats around to sniff and lick his behind.

    When I worked at a vet, we had a few pets who had anal glands that would pop like that.. on the wall was a frequent occurrence.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like quite a day! If it’s not one thing, it’s another! Glad that Baloo let you give him a bit of loving. Here’s to hoping your Wednesday is a little quieter.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

