Cat sitting

Because there aren’t enough cats in my life and I don’t have enough to do (Bowlathon, people — sign up or donate!) …

Tammy, our concierge, gave me a heads up that someone in the building was looking for a cat sitter. I know how stressful that can be so I said sure. “No, you don’t have to pay me but you could make a donation to Toronto Cat Rescue.” And just like that, it was set.

Meet Toby (and Molly):

IMG_4618

Toby

Molly

Best I could do of Molly. She’s shy and she’s really camera shy. Like “you’re stealing my soul” camera shy.

IMG_4617

THIS is Toby. 😉 Goofy.

I went up to meet them ahead of time after being warned, “They’re hiders.” HA! Beautiful   Toby strolled right up to me, rubbed against me, and hung out the entire time we were talking.

They are gorgeous, pampered cats. Toby is restless with condo life after having had the run of a house and needs some more stimulation. His owner has tried but I had some suggestions and some other tricks up my sleeve. He LOVES the laser pointer. And I made him a puzzle treat/toy dispenser. It was a success — he went after the toys, first! Mostly I just sit with him — he’s super affectionate and just wants love. He runs to greet me at the door and rubs up against my legs, following me around as I do my chores. Even after he’s fed, he’d rather come for lovin’ than eat! I usually sit on the floor with him, while he rubs and purrs, occasionally waving the laser pointer around. I have to be careful with it. He’s a big boy and hasn’t had much exercise lately. He gets winded and starts panting pretty quickly.

Pretty Molly is very shy and we haven’t really got acquainted yet. She’ll now appear, at least, but she gives me a wide berth.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cat sitting

  1. Katie and Olivia says:

    That is so weird that you are cat sitting. Olivia had a dream two nights ago that you needed cat sitters for the kittens and we took Aspen and Maple for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are so selfless! 🙂 Those “hiders” must’ve sensed that you’re a true cat lover.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Connie says:

    LOL.. I bet you have that same word tattooed on your forehead that I have on mine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Catsitting, again | Adventures in Cat Fostering

Leave a Reply

