THEY’RE HERE!

At long, long, last and everyone is safe and sound and nursing well. Thirty-two days after the original “due” date!! 🙂  I swear … longest pregnancy in cat history!

When I got home at five something was up. She was VERY talkative (she isn’t usually at all) and very restless. When I walked in the room, instead of rushing out as she’d usually do, she ran to her box and hopped in. She lay there kneading and purring and rolling around; first one side, then the other, then her back. This went on all evening. Still no proper contractions when I went to bed at 11.30pm! I woke up at 3.30am and went to check — three babies! All clean and dry and nursing. Clever girl! I was sitting admiring and thinking about checking and weighing the babies when out popped another one!

We have a tabby (104g), a black and white (110g), a grey (96g), and a dark tabby and white (118g). The big tabby was the last one. I’ll try and sex them and get pictures later. I want them all — Oprah included — to have a good rest. And I’ll entertain name suggestions (Olivia!!). As usual, I’d like a theme, but no decisions until we know the sexes and get better pictures of their little faces. UPDATE: Wait, there’s FIVE! Another had appeared when I went back in! Grey with white paws (116g).

Oprah is a really good mom, so far, and is ok with me touching/handling the babies. But even though the boys were wandering in and out last night, she is now more alert when they’re near.

IMG_4545

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to THEY’RE HERE!

  1. niasunset says:

    This is so beautiful, so beautiful. I am so happy to hear this, there are four babies, Blessing them all, should be so exciting to keep watching them. Thank you, Love, nia

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, that’s great! And after all that she did it all on her own – clever girl! How about spring themed names? You could go with flowers – Tulip, Daffodil, Willow, Hyacinth (who was a boy in mythology!), Crocus, Pansy…or even weather – Rain, Windy, Misty… Or I suppose since they were close to St. Patrick’s Day, some Irish names would be appropriate…

    I can report that Benson is a lovely cat – not that this would surprise you! – he’s very happy, very loved, and I didn’t sleep very well last night because he decided he needed to sleep between my legs!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Brigitte says:

    Mazel tov!! I’m so relieved! I was starting to feel her pain–or is it just that I’ve been eating too much and my stomach is bloated?? Can’t wait to see pics of the babies. Spring names are good if they’re females. I don’t know about Pansy for a boy….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Katie says:

    We are all so excited!! Olivia is working on some names and the kids said that they are willing to come over and play with them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Woohoo! So excited to see this post this morning! What a fun weekend ahead for you. Hugs and purrs to Oprah and her babies. Can’t wait to see more pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Chandra Wohleber says:

    Great news!! Will be looking forward to more pictures. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Courtney says:

    Yay ! So exciting 🙂 I’ve been checking the blog daily hoping to see tat she had the kittens. Can’t wait for cute pictures of all of them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joanna K says:

    Finally!!! Hooray!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Connie says:

    Congratuations! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: It’s deja vu all over again | Adventures in Cat Fostering

Leave a Reply

