Heartbroken

I’ve found the downside of keeping in touch with my adopters. Sometimes, ignorance is bliss. Sweet Ella died suddenly on Friday. She had a stroke or a seizure and, despite rushing her to the vet, there was nothing they could do.

It’s so unfair that this comes just as she was making such great progress; her people are devastated. There is nothing I can say to make them feel better. I can only reassure them what a great thing they did loving her. I hope, in time, they’ll heal enough to remember her without pain.

I am heartbroken. And grateful. I am so very, very grateful to Tammy and Skye who opened their hearts to Ella. They gave her more love than she could ever need and they made her short time here the absolute best it could be.

Thank you to everyone else on “Team Ella”. Everyone who rooted for her, loved her, cheered her progress. The “funny little duck” made quite an impact in her brief time here!

IMG_6733

Sweet Ella. July 1, 2015 – March 11, 2016

 

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, are in the photo. Little Blue was a foster kitten I kept. All were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Heartbroken

  1. So very sorry to hear this!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kelly Hockley says:

    She was so very sweet and thank you Heather for touching our lives with her!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Katie says:

    I am heartbroken. I loved the way she liked to be snuggled all wrapped up in a blanket. Thank you Tammy and Skye for taking such good care of her. She was a special little girl who I looked forward to hearing about in your updates. She will live on in so many people’s hearts. She has achieved her life purpose, to show love to those around her. Take care Tammy, you are held in my heart as you showed Ella what unconditional love looks like.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Herman says:

    So sorry to read this sad post. My thoughts are with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh no :/ this is terrible. I enjoyed reading about Ella’s journey. This has truly saddened me. I’m sorry.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lukecats says:

    😦 i’m so sorry…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Oh, how very sad. I’m so glad you and Tammy gave her so much love and happiness at the end of her short life, and I hope you can both find some comfort in that.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joanna K says:

    Noooo, I never even met Ella and I was still in love with her!! How tragic for you and her family. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  9. niasunset says:

    I am so sorry too. my heart with you. Love, nia

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Connie says:

    It so sucks that not every cat is given a long life, but every cat that is loved gets a full life. It doesn’t matter when a loved one passes, it is never ever enough time.

    my heart goes out to them.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. gamerswifey says:

    That is so sad, I’m so sorry. It is wonderful of you to have helped find her a home and I hope she got love showered over her in her last days and left the world very happy and knowing what having a good family felt like.

    Like

  12. Pingback: Something different | Adventures in Cat Fostering

Leave a comment