Things move fast around here!

First, I got a Maggie update! This is another thing about the Kennedy Commons adoption centre; because they have a pretty big team in place, they can do follow-ups. Every cat I’ve had adopted from there has had an update that was forwarded to me. Maggie is no exception:

Maggie appears to be adjusting very well, she felt the need to explore the house within the first hour and has been following [us] ever since. She’s eating, drinking, and using the litter box regularly. She spent the night sleeping at the bottom of the bed, but woke us a few times with snuggles hehe. Her energy level has been great, but with that being said, she’s currently nestled beside me & taking a nap from all the playtime. She’s a very loving, gentle cat and is a perfect fit in our home! Thank you so much for the information,
I’ll be sure to send you an email if I have any updates or concerns, but she appears to be very adaptable, so I’m sure there will be no problems!

IMG_5856 IMG_5843

The subject line of the email to me was “no surprise here”. 🙂

Then Cricket had her spay surgery:

IMG_4469

Sleeping it off after surgery.

When we got home, Oprah arrived! Another London cat, but this one with a terrible upper respiratory infection (URI). Very sneezy and wheezy. Despite that (and me having to give her meds she DOES.NOT.WANT) she’s quite relaxed and friendly:

IMG_4471Though she did pee on the bed I made for her. Cricket had the comfy bed, so I put down a couple of towels and a new friend (the green frog in the background). I wasn’t surprised that she kept sleeping under the desk — they often do — but I was a little surprised this morning when the litter box wasn’t used and I could smell pee. I couldn’t find, it but could smell it. Tonight when I got home, even though the towels weren’t wet, they absolutely smelled of pee. So into the laundry they went and I got the comfy bed for her (Cricket had spent the night sleeping on top of her carrier anyway!) As you can see, she’s very pleased and has been in it ever since (and used the litter box).

Cricket and I went off to work where everyone was happy to see her after her surgery day off. At lunch Brendan took a photo of her sleeping in my arms,

Cricket_sleepswhich I posted on the foster parents’ page and said she was available if anyone knew anyone who was looking. Turns out one of the foster parents was looking! Before you could say “adoption”, Charlene had been screened, approved, set up a meeting, and, just like that Cricket has her forever home! And a big brother, Teddy. I’m sure I’ll get lots of updates and photos. If not, I know where to find her. 😉

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things move fast around here!

  1. Pingback: Some bits and pieces | Adventures in Cat Fostering

  2. Pingback: Loose ends, sort of | Adventures in Cat Fostering

Leave a Reply

