Brooklyn has left the building

Brooklyn’s medical caregiver was back in town on Boxing Day. We were trying to arrange a ride for her when I was offered a car for a couple of days (actually an extension to the time I had already borrowed it). I don’t think Brooklyn was happy to be back. 😦  But she needs to be checked out again and two more weeks of cage rest. I found out a tiny bit more about her … they don’t know exactly what happened. Maybe a car. Maybe a balcony fall; they said the type of injury to her mouth was typical of a balcony fall. And it wasn’t just her jaw — which was wired. She also had a big split in her soft palate. That’s why she had to be on soft food. It’s pretty shocking how many cats we get in who have fallen off balconies.

Even if she’s unhappy going back, I’ve learned enough about her to help open her options later. I think she’d be fine in a store; she’s social and likes attention. She’s good with other cats and with dogs. She can get nippy when she’s overstimulated with attention, so I don’t think she’d be great with young kids, but they told me that with the type of leg break she has, they’d be reluctant to adopt her out to a family with young kids anyway.

I took advantage of the access to an experienced person and brought Ella along. She’s been having some issues that had me worried about her mouth/teeth. Unfortunately, she had an accident on the way there. (Don’t worry, Brigitte, she was in a well-padded carrier that was on the floor!) So we spent the first little bit cleaning her up. Heather (TCR Executive Director) had a good look in her mouth. She thinks it’s normal teething stuff. In fact, while she was looking, Ella lost a tooth and swallowed it! Also normal, but funny. So I’ll just monitor her and hopefully all will be well.

(Many thanks to Brigitte for the loan of the car.)

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brooklyn has left the building

  1. Brigitte Waisberg says:

    Glad it came in handy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

