Another (minor) scare

Very minor.

I got home on Friday, exhausted after a very tough week at work and from carrying home groceries, cat kibble, and wine*.

After my initial drop everything I went into the den and there on the floor was a huge puddle. My heart sank. Ella had been doing so well. Though I was pleased to see there weren’t little wet footprints everywhere. After a big sigh, I went to get some rags to clean it up. There were two toys in the middle of the puddle. I picked up and sniffed the little foam ball (’cause that’s what you do!) … no pee smell! I wiped up most of the puddle with a rag and sniffed again … definitely no pee smell!! What the what? Then I noticed the nearly empty water dish and began to piece things together. I don’t know how they did it: the water dish was upright and in its usual place; there was about two feet of dry space between the dish and the puddle. All I can surmise is that they (probably Ella but who knows — it’s a pretty heavy dish) tipped it on its side, but not enough to flip it. It ran and settled in a dip in the floor and the trail dried up between the dish and the puddle.

Who cares? Hurray! Ella’s record holds!! And the floor needs washing anyway.

 

*I bought two jars of on-sale peanut butter for our building’s food drive. Realized I couldn’t carry the peanut butter AND wine home. Decided Monday was a good day to put the peanut butter in the collection box — and I want to get more stuff anyway. Left it in my office and carried home wine instead. Priorities.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another (minor) scare

  1. Chandra Wohleber says:

    Yes, the wine comes first! And good thing too because then you could raise a glass to toast the fact that the puddle was *only* water. Hurrah!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

