Milestones

I’m so excited for Ella!! She’s made some progress that in most other cats wouldn’t be a big deal but for her they’re pretty big hurdles.

  • she’s getting along well with Regine and Shakira; follows them like, forgive me, a puppy ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  though she still hisses when startled
  • we’ve had only one accident in a week and I’m getting more and more sure that was because she was alone for the day
  • we’ve tried a couple of different foods and she seems to have settled on Royal Canin Babycat, for now; she loves it and she’s having much more solid poops
  • she’s not as messy with her food; Regine and Shakira may be cleaning up the kibble, but she’s not stepping in her wet food as much (Come to think of it, I don’t think she’s standing in her pee as much, either. I haven’t had to clean up any little wet footprints!)
  • SHE JUMPED UP ON THE COUCH!!!!!!!!!! Twice*. I can’t even begin to explain how huge that is. You can’t imagine unless you’ve seen her in action.
  • she jumped/fell off the couch and landed on her feet (okay, that might not have been on purpose)

She still doesn’t “corner” well. ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  And I’m going to have to really watch her when she’s loose and running around; she tends to crash into things. That’s okay when you’re a tiny, bendy kitten, but she’s getting to a size where she could hurt herself. I’ve still been unsuccessful getting her to drink — I’m not giving up — but that’s the most easily managed of her issues. She still “circles” quite a bit (a sign of neurological issues) and watching her run here, there, and everywhere last night I realized that it was the behaviour of a much younger kitten. But it’s very clear to me that she IS still learning; yes she’s way behind a typical kitten of her age but she’s making fantastic progress.

*The first time I think she surprised herself and just stood there. The second time sheย  charged up like it was nothing and ran right up onto my chest for a cuddle. For a second, I just took it for granted. Then I realized what had just happened!

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Milestones

  1. Have you ever tried a water fountain to get her to drink? Just curious. My cat will only drink water from a running source. Hurray for Ella. I’m glad she’s showing progress ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • Heather says:

      Yup — she just stared at the sound. The resident cats now enjoy it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I got some great suggestions from our Foster Parents group but have been a little slow in implementing them. Fortunately, the new girls have been showing her how it’s done and I’m hoping that will help, too.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Heather says:

    I thought I did but I’m still learning new shit (sometimes literally!) with every new foster.

    Like

  3. Katie says:

    Yay for Ella!! It is so rewarding to see them achieve their milestones.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

