Meet Ella!!

So much for the “empty nest” post I had planned. I’m “illegal” again!! Lou’s potential adopter is coming on Saturday. Claire is getting picked up on Tuesday. But last night I picked up sweet Ella anyway.

Apparently, I am Ella’s second foster. She had a vet visit in the middle. She’s pretty high maintenance. That’s because she appears to be developmentally delayed. They’ve run every test they can think of but nothing comes up. The vet thinks her poor little brain was deprived of oxygen at some point. She has poor vision and hearing, though I don’t think it’s as bad as they say. She startled when I moved in the chair (and had her back to me) and she sure knows when the door to the kitten room opens!! She bolts for it every time although she’s not very steady on her feet. And she plays with “noisy” toys. Even a quiet rattle or bell will get her attention.

Her biggest problem is hydration. She won’t drink water. Maybe because it doesn’t really smell like anything to her? She got badly dehydrated, hence her recent time at the vet. She loves to eat but needs help. She has trouble focusing and will wander away from her food. I have to mix a lot of water in her wet food and then “coach” her to finish her meal. She likes kibble, too, but will stand in it and spill it all over. She’s VERY messy.

The vet tech told me she always pees in her box but sometimes has poop accidents. Sure enough, last night was outside the box. I’m hoping as she gets used to the space, and learns better where things are, that won’t happen too much.

In her favour? She is the sweetest, most affectionate little thing!! Loves attention; kneads and licks and nibbles. Sometimes I catch her with her tongue hanging out! I hope I can get a picture of that! I got some video last of her playing. Keep in mind that this was right after she arrived. Also, apologies for the weirdness in the middle; I was reaching behind me for the ball she’s playing with. 😉

I love that she looks like a regular kitten in this, but I assure you she’s not and her prognosis is unknown at this point. It’ll be a wait and see game to see if she learns more and progresses. We especially need to see if she can develop more normal eating habits.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

