Kitten rodeo!

Oh, I wish I could get footage of this. Or maybe not.

Every time I open the door to the kitten room there is a stampede out. Sometimes only a stampede of two kittens, but always someone. Always, always, always, Hamish. His little legs and fat belly are adorable to see scampering across the room. Usually Nell, who makes a beeline for under the couch. And usually Lou, who just wants to ruuuuuuuunn. The others ebb and flow depending on their little kitten whims. They make me laugh, even when they’re making me late!

While they are adorable, bouncing and skidding all over, I’m not sure I want any record of me scrambling to corral them all!

And just to make you all jealous … last night I had three purring kittens cuddled in my arms. I try to give each of them their own cuddle time, but some are definitely more interested than others. Hamish is the biggest cuddler and, while I like to think I’m his favourite, he’ll cuddle with anyone. When I go in and sit at the desk, Hamish, Nell, Lou, Cullen, and Mickey will usually climb up my legs to say “hi”. Lily has begun to more now, too. Mei will climb, but doesn’t seem much interested in cuddling. Eva is the most stand-offish. She’s not scared or unfriendly; just kind of uninterested. I suspect Mei and Eva may be more typical calicos. I’ll have to work on that. 😉

Physically, they can be divided into three pairs plus Nell. I wonder if there were three or even four fathers? Mei and Eva are full calicos and have the softest, softest fur! I suspect they may both be medium-haired cats. Lou(ise) and Lily are practically twins! And I think they’re both going to be lean, leggy cats. Although Cullen and Mickey are on opposite ends of the weight scale, they’re both orange and white. Nell, the almost tortie, is by herself. I’m always on the lookout for emotional pairs but haven’t really seen anything consistent. I’m beginning to suspect that Hamish adores Cullen and will keep an eye on that. I do know that Hamish will have to be adopted into a home with at least one other cat. He is NOT a loner!

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

