Introducing …

Gilbert (darker) and Sullivan (lighter).

IMG_3472

Size difference is exaggerated, but Gilbert is 1.5kg bigger.

A big “thank you” to those who gave suggestions. I’ve put them on my running list of names. But my foster coordinator weighed in, so Gilbert and Sullivan it is.

They are absolutely the sweetest boys! I can’t get over it. Working at the computer is extremely difficult; as soon as I sit down, they’re all over the desk and laptop, wanting attention and to be petted. Gilbert has been very sneezy with lots of fluid coming out of his eyes and nose. It could be stress but I was also warned that a lot of these rescues had nose issues from ammonia (pee!) irritating their nasal passages. Speaking of which, both boys have yellow feet. 😦  I know they’ll get back to their pure white eventually, but it’s a sad reminder of what they’ve been through.

Gilbert loves to be held. He’ll lean back in my arms to knead my shoulder and gaze into my eyes. But he seems to have a bit of a nipping problem when he wants attention. We’ll have to work on that. Sullivan doesn’t like to be held but he’s come out of his shell enough to show how much he loves attention.

At first I thought the bonding was kind of one-way; Sullivan absolutely depends on Gilbert. When I remove Gilbert for a steaming session in the bathroom, Sullivan spends the whole time peering out the window, watching for him. However, it’s become a little more clear that Gilbert depends on Sullivan, as well. He’s not nearly as outgoing and brave when he’s away from Sullivan. They constantly rub up against each other. Sullivan even left Gilbert’s food untouched while G. was getting steamed.

IMG_3471

Shows their lion cuts!

The word is that almost all of these cats have lovely personalities. And they’re certainly beautiful. So it would appear that the breeder knew what they were doing — at least before whatever illness, physical or mental, got the best of them.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Introducing …

  1. Pingback: Rant time | Adventures in Cat Fostering

Leave a Reply

