Rest and recovery; Bree’s turn

So I’ve known all along that the worry doesn’t end when you send them off into the world, but it was driven home again this time.

I got an email on the weekend from Bree’s adopter; she was worried that Bree wasn’t very active. She was also coughing. Since she was eating, using the litter box, and grooming I wasn’t too worried. I told her adopter that those were good signs but that if she was still worried, or things worsened, to contact the post-adoption group. I didn’t specifically say that they could authorize a vet appointment, but that’s what I was thinking. Monday morning I got word that Bree was going to the vet. She was having breathing difficulties and was lethargic. Ask me how my stress levels were after that!

[Insert deity of choice] bless alert and attentive adopters. And the adoption counsellors (Paula!!) who keep in touch with them. I got word a few hours later: the dreaded URI. Where the heck did she pick that up? Everyone else (I checked on Mandy) is fine. Poor little thing. I know stress can help bring it on. And when they’re so little, stuff happens fast and hard.

I got an update this morning. She’s certainly not all better, but her adopter thinks she’s on the right track.

Of the 31 fosters I’ve had — and not counting Storm — I’ve only heard of four (including Bree) with post-adoption health issues. Luckily, three of the four were relatively minor and easily fixed. I’d love if it was zero, but considering what some of these cats go through, four’s not bad (though I imagine their worried adopters might beg to differ!).

2015-06-12 15.24.34

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rest and recovery; Bree’s turn

  1. Pingback: Lou and Mei | Adventures in Cat Fostering

Leave a Reply

