Developments

Mandy found her purr!! I’m pretty sure she had one before but she finally let me hear it. It’s almost as strong as Bree’s. Nothing quite like have two purring kittens in your arms.

Claire had a “two steps forward one step back” kind of weekend. We had a lovely session on Friday with treats and petting. Saturday? Not so much. And on Sunday all hell broke loose.

The girls had been rebelling against their bathroom confinement. Fair enough; it’s a small space for two growing kittens. So I started giving them some “out” time; first with the big boys locked up then with the males free but keeping a careful watch. They had a great time. But on Sunday afternoon Mandy discovered that Claire was still in the den. They “talked” through the window and played under the door. I wasn’t sure about putting the kittens back in with Claire, though she was clearly feeling fine and well recovered from her surgery. When I put the girls back in the bathroom there was piteous crying — from both rooms. It was heart-breaking. I emailed Sarah for advice but finally couldn’t take it anymore and put the kittens back in with Claire. MY GOD! If there was any doubt that maternal aggression was an issue it’s completely erased now. Happy as she was to have the kittens back, she became a wild thing. I was actually afraid of her and made myself a cardboard shield for when I had to go in the room. I was beside myself that I’d done the wrong thing, actually wondering if I’d be able to get the kittens out again!

Fortunately, this morning she was back to her old self. Watchful but not fierce. And I got to see her playing with them!! I had suspected she was before but hadn’t seen it. It was so great to witness. She was fine with me coming in to bring breakfast. I didn’t try to change the litter, but she let me add more. I’ll try and go in tonight to spend some time with the kittens — if she’ll let me!

The girls are booked for their surgery on Wednesday. Right now it looks like they’ll be coming back home afterwards. Not sure what I’ll do if that happens. Of course that could change.

 

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Developments

  1. Pingback: Adjusting | Adventures in Cat Fostering

Leave a Reply

