Coming to a close

While Mandy is having her issues, (which are greatly improving), the boys are getting so big. I talked with Sarah about it, and we don’t want them to miss out on being snapped up by a great family, so we’re going to go ahead and have the boys neutered in time to go to the mega adoption event. They’re booked into the vet’s for next week. Bree (who’s the next smallest) will wait for Mandy to catch up and they’ll be spayed and put up for adoption together a little later.

So this big roller-coaster adventure, that started with Leah’s arrival, will be coming to a close. After last summer I swore “no bottle feeders” but it happened anyway. And it was kind of nice this time since I had mama Claire to do the heavy lifting. But five kittens are a LOT. They eat a lot. Right now, two cans of food a day, plus a large bowl of kibble; I put a second bowl in the other day because I kept finding the first empty. True, Claire eats the kibble too, but she only cleans the wet food dishes when kittens are finished. All that means that they poop a lot, too! The “Yesterday’s News” is great for kittens because they can eat it with no ill effects. It’s also easier to clean up and doesn’t quite get as everywhere as clay does. But it’s not scoopable. You pretty much have to dump the whole thing every day and now it’s getting to be twice a day. That’s a LOT of litter. And they’re messy! They walk in their food, in their poop, in their pee and track it all everywhere. Bedding gets gross very quickly. Even toys have to be washed regularly! All that helps a little with having to say goodbye.

We still have to decide about Claire. My gut tells me she’ll tame down after the kittens are gone and she’s spayed. Right now, she’s still pretty ferocious. She hisses every time I come in the room and gets really mean when I have to clean up and/or change bedding. She got me a good one the other day — smacked my hand and gave me a deep puncture. But when I go in and just lie on the floor, and the kittens are climbing all over me, she’s quite relaxed and I can usually pet her. And, of course, I could pet her just fine when she first arrived.

They’re finally getting to an age when they don’t all charge me as soon as I come in the room (except breakfast and dinner — stampede!!). So when they were all sleepy last night, and I went in, I could get some nice pictures:

IMG_3260

I was trying to get a good shot of his belly spots, but he wouldn’t cooperate.

IMG_3258

They’re getting so big; they have to be feeling really friendly for all five to be in the bed together. (Only three here.)

IMG_3256
IMG_3254
IMG_3255

IMG_3251

Water dish.

IMG_3248
IMG_3247
IMG_3244

IMG_3261

OMG!

 

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

