Cats (and kittens) are jerks

The other night, after two or three days of Claire absolutely refusing to nurse the kittens, I decided it was time for some tough love to get them eating on their own. I tried canned food; I’d put it in their mouths and they’d gobble it down but would not eat it on their own. I put a large bowl of formula down (I’ve seen half of them drinking from the water bowl!). Nothing. So I left the room (after sticking their little snouts in it so they’d know what it was) to see if hunger would help things along. When I peeked in a little while later everyone was snuggled up to the milk bar (Claire) and Claire was relaxed and dozing. Not a squawk, not a hiss … just peace and quiet and a bowl of untouched formula.  Grrrrr.

IMG_3122

This is what it was supposed to look like two weeks ago!

They still need the bottle; they’re too big for Claire. But I think everyone now is eating kibble! They seemed to have skipped the “slurrie” stage and are completely uninterested in canned food. This morning after their morning bottle (I’m cutting down to two a day) when everyone was sleepy, I cleaned up the room and changed the bed. It’s been a day of peace and quiet and play so I snuck in and took some pictures.

IMG_3132

Claire looks mean here, but it’s just because I interrupted her Bree-pillow nap.

IMG_3133 IMG_3135 IMG_3129 IMG_3128 IMG_3127 IMG_3125 IMG_3124 IMG_3123 IMG_3131

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

