Oh, my! (and pictures)

Yesterday morning I woke up early for some reason. And quickly became aware of plaintiff “mews” from the den. Not unusual. They’re a noisy bunch. But as I lay there it went on and on. Finally I couldn’t stand it anymore and got up to make a bottle for whichever one was making the raucous. When I went in the den and turned on the light … no kittens!! Claire was curled up in the nest by herself looking … disconcerted. Before I knew it, a little, wobbly, stampede came charging out from under the desk. Claire likes to hide under the desk when she’s not in the nest so I’d put a nice bed under there. Luckily, the kittens, however they’d got out of the box, had found the bed and piled up all together. I don’t know how long they’d been out but they were hungry. I suspect that Claire didn’t really know what to do. Maybe she thought since they’d followed her out (I assume) that they’d follow her back in. I put the girls and Mac in with Claire and gave Fergus and Jem a bottle. I’m going to supplement, I think. Just to take some pressure off Claire. While I was feeding the boys, she was getting quite agitated and clearly is in quite a bit of pain. If I can even take the edge off their hunger, so they don’t fight over her as much, I think it might help. Mandy refuses to eat from a bottle and Mac is still the smallest, so I’ll focus on the big boys and Bree.

IMG_3035

Welcome to the snake pit!

IMG_3041

Awake, alert, and not nursing. They’re growing up!

IMG_3029

L-R; Claire, Bree (Mac’s back), Jem

IMG_3031

Jem is definitely the oldest. He plays the most and has started grooming — already!

IMG_3036

Fergus; someday I’ll get a photo of his white chest.

IMG_3037

More snake pit!

IMG_3038

Bree does some kind of kitten hokey-pokey.

IMG_3039

Just adorable.

IMG_3040

Mac doesn’t want to be left out. Mac at top, Fergus on left, Bree on right.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

