Weekend Update

Whew. What a crazy weekend. Ok, not as crazy as last weekend, but still. I’ve spent two days bouncing from the den to the bathroom and back. Saturday night I read for a while sitting in the bathroom, then moved to beside the nest and read for a while more. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leah’s making good progress, I think. She’s strong enough to jump in the bathtub! I’d fish her out, but if I didn’t set up her “privacy tent” she’d hop back in.

Leah's tent

Leah’s tent

Sunday morning her nose was clean for, I think, the first time in over a week. She ate; not a lot but some. And she loves being brushed! First she responded by standing and eating (while I brushed her) and the second time, by lifting her butt to the brush and eating. So I’d go in every once in a while to brush her and she’d eat. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I even found her once, sleeping in a normal “C” position, relaxed, rather than crouching. Eventually I got purring and she stood up to come out of her cave/tent to be brushed! It was awesome to see.

To the casual observer she may not look awesome, but trust me, she's a thousand times better than a week ago.

To the casual observer she may not look awesome, but trust me, she’s a thousand times better than a week ago!

She’s still got a way to go and she may have long term damage, but here’s hoping. She’ll be having some more tests when she gets back to the vet.

Claire and the kittens are doing well. Claire is getting more and more used to my presence and doesn’t hunch quite as much around the kittens as before. And if I’m just in the room (not hovering over the nest) she’s quite relaxed. I never see her cleaning the kittens, even though I know she must be. Most mom cats I’ve seen are a little obsessive about cleaning; no kitten dare come within tongue range! I mentioned it to my coordinator and she thinks it’s probably inexperience. Never mind, they’re eating and gaining weight every day.

No more news about Cora, but in this business, no news is good news. Speaking of, I got an email on Sunday that Carson wasn’t eating. Carson?! I hope it’s just that his adopter isย  giving him wet food. Weird dude doesn’t like wet food. But he also gets bad hairballs.

And finally, kitten pictures, of course:IMG_3011 IMG_3008 IMG_3010

 

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, are in the photo. Little Blue was a foster kitten I kept. All were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment