The first full day

Somebody at work asked me, “How many cats do you have now?” and I realized that I have NINE cats. Line crossed. And I thought five was too many — though I’m pretty sure Archie counted as at least two! Of course the five kittens are little or no work now that Claire is doing all the heavy lifting. Until they’re about a month old. Then I have to start pitching in with food (which gets messy) to help wean them.

IMG_2973

From left to right: Jem (kind of sitting up), Fergus (black), Mac (grey&white) Bree, Mandy (on mom)

Claire is an awesome mom. When I got home, she was out of the nest taking a break and she hid from me. But if she’s in with the kittens, not only will she not leave the kittens, she closes more tightly around them! So I pet her and try to leave the babies alone. I miss bottle feeding them! Not every two hours, of course, but once a day would be nice.

Mandy!

Mandy! (She has a lighter face; Bree’s is half light, half dark.

This was the only half-decent individual photo I could get while I was weighing them. Claire was too nervous. All I want to do is watch them and get adorable photos. And earn Claire’s trust! We are already making progress; she’ll close her eyes when I’m in the room working at the computer.

The latest I saw on Leah was that she was the “same as yesterday” and still not eating. I’m trying to stay hopeful.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The first full day

  1. Pingback: The year in review — 2015 | Adventures in Cat Fostering

Leave a Reply

