Some follow-ups

I was so disappointed when Archie was returned. But looking back, I’ve been pretty fortunate with my fosters.

My first foster was re-homed but within the adopter’s family. Luke had issues with other cats, apparently. The adopter’s brother took him and it’s been all good since then.

Luke was my first foster, adopted after three weeks.

Luke was my first foster, adopted after three weeks.

Baxter became famous so I know how his story turned out.

At the end of last year I had a post-adoption inquiry directed to me specifically; JJ’s adopter had called! When I called back, trying to offer my (and the group’s) advice on her newly developed “swatting” issues, I got an almost non-stop string of praise for her! How lovely she was, how good, how loved. Helen just wondered if there was anything in her background (we don’t know) to explain it. And not to worry, there was no question of her being returned; she’s part of the family. It was wonderful to hear, but I felt pretty useless in the advice department. My coordinator says sometimes people just want you to listen — so true of many situations!

JJ had been at TAS for five months when I got her. She was with me six months, had a bit of a rocky time, but then found the perfect home!

JJ had been at TAS for five months when I got her. She was with me six months, had a bit of a rocky time, but then found the perfect home!

And, of course, I followed Storm’s progress through the system; going from me to a second to a third foster who adopted her. The best part was when the vet’s office gleefully told me she’d been adopted! I already knew and was going to tell them. I had no idea that they’d been continuing her care.

Even better, I’ve received updates on some recent adoptees, like Jasmin. And one about Tabitha — now “Tilly”. And this one on Benson, just 48 hours after he left:

Benson is doing amazing, he sleeps in our room most of the night and on the bed with us for some of it. He likes to hide in a closet in his room during the day but is much more adventurous at night. We had two friends come to meet him last night and he cuddled with them on the couch.

It’d be nice if I could follow all of them, but some updates are better than no updates.

 

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

