Welcome back

I’ve been dreading seeing one of my fosters in the post-adoption queries. Some of them I’ve had for such a short time, anything could happen or crop up. And it’s happened, though not the one I might have expected. Looks like Archie is being returned. I’m so sad. He made such great progress in the short time he was with me and it sounds like that’s been pretty much reversed. He’s been hiding and not eating. It sounds like he (and the existing cat in his home) were rushed. It hasn’t even been two weeks and they’re giving up. I know I’m not typical, but I gave Jonesy and Pip four months. Although Murphy did solve the problem, I realize that three cats is not a solution for most people. But time and patience can be.

We don’t have a foster home available so they’re making an exception to the two foster rule and he’s coming back here. We’re going to be a pretty full house. He’ll be segregated, not for quarantine, but for adjustment and observation. I’m hoping he’ll come around quickly and be ready to be re-posted soon. Fortunately, Carson has been making excellent progress and in the last two days has been hanging out with rest of the household, rather than staying in the den.

This is the kind of never-a-dull-moment I can do without. 😦

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Welcome back

  1. Brigitte says:

    At least he’ll be coming back to you rather than to another stranger.

    Like

  2. Chandra says:

    Poor Archie! 😦 So sad … But he is a lucky fellow in coming back to you; you’ll give him great care.

    Like

Leave a Reply

