Xavi’s Story

I started fostering in March 2013. My first, Luke, was adopted after just three weeks. Then came Lawson, also adopted after about three weeks. I thought, Wow, this is easy. And I’ll never have time to get attached.
Then I got a call. “There’s a cat in a store; she has a cold and we have to get her
out of there, right away.”
I was told she was four years old and had been abandoned in an apartment, undiscovered for three weeks! She’d already been in foster care to recover, and had been moved to the store for adoption.
I went and picked up “Xavi” and brought her home. She was calm, gentle (with people; bossy with other cats!), and affectionate. What she was not, was one of those cats where you say, “Wow, that’s a pretty cat!” She endured multiple “steamings” a day and with that, and rest, she recovered pretty quickly from her cold. No medical intervention required. I left her in quarantine for a little extra time, to be sure, and noticed that she was drinking a LOT. With that and some other symptoms, my foster counsellor recommended a vet check up and blood work. So I packed her up and headed off to the vet. When the vet walked into the exam room, she took one look at Xavi and said, “Four??? teen!! more like. And she’s hyperthyroid. I can pretty much tell by looking at her.” Now I had a senior cat on daily medication. I was convinced my brief foster career was over.
We spent the summer making trips to the vet every few weeks for more blood tests, trying to get her medication right, to balance her thyroid levels. She ended up on a prettyhefty dose of meds. By early September, we figured we had it right and Xavi, my own cats, and I settled in to our new lives. I knew she was a lovely cat, but she had a lot of strikes against her; not the prettiest cat and not photogenic, senior, on meds, and the bottom of the alphabet and therefore last on the website.
Then, the last week of September, I got the call: someone was interested in adopting Xavi!! Stunned, I asked the adoption screener, “Why?” She said, “You know, I asked that question myself, and you know what she said? ‘Because I want to give a cat a home who’d otherwise have a hard time getting one.’” I can be pretty cynical when it comes to people, but that day? I think my heart grew three sizes.
Her potential adopters arrived for the meet and greet. Xavi interviewed like a champ, jumping up on the couch between the two guests, rubbing and purring, acting like there was no where else she’d rather be. (Which was probably true!) After a good visit, with me assuring them that they could think about it and didn’t have to take her right away, they said, “We think we have to take her.”
After five months, Xavi had her forever home. The adopter sent me updates for a while and that cat looked younger and happier in every photo I received!!

Xavi was abandoned in an apartment and not found for three weeks. She was 12 yrs old (maybe older). She was adopted from my home by a delightful young woman who wanted to adopt "a cat that would have a hard time finding a home".

Xavi in her new home, queen of all she surveys.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Xavi’s Story

  1. Nyla says:

    Hi Heather! I’m curious about something. I’m interested in fostering cats in Toronto, but I wanted to know the cost and time associated with it. Do you pay for all the treatments, vet appointments etc. yourself? Also, how much time does it take you to get the cats back and forth from adoption events?

    Like

    • Heather says:

      Hi,
      It’s really quite varied. TCR pays for all vet appts, medications, and some special food, if required. Regular food, litter, toys are all the responsibility of the foster. You can submit receipts (originals only) at the end of the year for a tax receipt. Some cats never go to adoption events, depending on their temperament or socialization level (see JJ’s story! https://slipperyslopeblog.wordpress.com/2014/08/31/jj/ ). TCR has volunteer drivers who can transport cats to events and vet appointments. If transporting yourself, it depends. The coordinators are pretty good at finding vets or stores as near to you as possible. Usually for an adoption event, the cat is taken Friday night or early Saturday morning (depending on the store) and they stay until they’re adopted or store closing on Sunday, whichever comes first. 😉

      Like

  2. Pingback: Four years! | Adventures in Cat Fostering

Leave a Reply

