Cora

What a sweetie! All she wants to do is eat and be petted and purr. What a motor! She’s so desperate for affection that she can’t even hold still. When I hold her, she wiggles and wiggles, not to get away, but trying to get even more petting! She does, however, more than wiggle to get away from her medications! I don’t think I appreciated how easy Frankie (or the others) was to medicate. I have to wrap her up in a towel and even then she usually gets free a couple of times. I suppose I should be glad that she has that much fight in her!

It’s stunning the progress a cat can make when it gets out of the shelter. (This is not a judgement on shelters — most of them do the best they can in very difficult circumstances.) Cora’s no different and she’s already showing improvement. She’ll eat kibble now. She wouldn’t at first, whether because she couldn’t smell it or because it hurt her mouth. But she’s wolfing it down like she’s starving. It’s heart-breaking to watch her eat; she’s so congested it’s difficult to eat but on top of that she’s always pausing to look around as if watching for someone to take it away or for something to attack her. I can’t wait until that goes away.

I’m terrified that she could be pregnant. What chance would those kittens have? And she’s so tiny, labour and delivery would be … awful. So I’m holding my breath.

She’s not playing yet, but the poor thing needs all her energy for getting better. And she’s not cleaning herself very well, yet either. But those things will come.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

