All cats, all the time

What a cat-filled weekend! (More than usual.)

Benson is recovering nicely from his neuter surgery. (Instructions from vet tech: “just lift up his skirts once in a while and check that everything looks OK”. HEE ) On Sunday afternoon my neighbor and friend Pam came down and took we had a photo shoot — got some fabulous ones from for the website. And to cap it all off, he was running through the apartment this morning. Running!

And then there’s Archie. Sigh.

When I got home Friday night and looked in on Archie this is what I found:

love Archie

 

 

 

 

 

I have what apparently is called a “banjo” counter in my bathroom, meaning there’s a skinny shelf over the back of the toilet. I have a jar of q-tips and various lotions ‘n’ stuff sitting there. Everything was on the floor. I picked it all up, put most of it beside the sink, but put the jar back where it usually sits. About an hour later, I heard the jar fall down again.

Now, keep in mind, Archie is a very small cat, clearly agile and coordinated.  The next evening, I heard him yowling and went to check. He was on the shelf, clearly freaked out, but as always, jumped down as soon as I came in. Then I noticed the cat spit — all over the mirror. I put all the clues together and came to the conclusion that he’d been fighting with/freaking out/getting agitated by the “other” cat in the bathroom!!! So I did this:

oh Archie

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve covered the mirror about halfway up with paper. And it seems to have worked! He is calmer and doesn’t seem to hide quite as much. He seems to be out more when I open the door (though he still hides when I come in). The really odd thing is that he seems interested in the real cats outside his door. He sniffs under the door and “talks” to them. Maybe, being close to feral, it was that he couldn’t smell the mirror cat that freaked him out. Who knows. He is an odd little beast.

I tried to spend more time with him, which on the plus side, meant I got quite a bit of reading done.

Sadly, he still spent a good part of the weekend yowling. I’m convinced that he has some sort of urinary infection or bladder stones. It’s impossible to evaluate him for all the usual signs of such a thing; he doesn’t have free run so inappropriate peeing isn’t possible (thank goodness), he runs and hides when I come in, so I can’t observe him straining. But I’ve clearly heard him digging in the litter box and then yowling. So we’ve got him booked in to the vet tomorrow. I almost hope he does have a problem; it would explain some of his behaviour and perhaps treatment will help him calm down and it wouldn’t be a waste of TCR’s money!

Finally, I spent most of my not-directly-looking-after-live-cats time working on various projects for TCR’s upcoming fundraiser. But more on that later.

 

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All cats, all the time

  1. Chandra says:

    So great that you realized mirror-Archie was freaking him out. Poor little gaffer! I hope the vet visit helps him …

    Like

Leave a Reply

