Caleb-the-cute update

Caleb is doing much better. He’s finally gained some weight. I found out he likes the freeze-dried chicken treats, so I let him have lots of those.

He’s a little more willing to accept his confinement, as long as I spend time with him. I let him out for a little exploration (in blatant violation of the quarantine rules!) and he found the toy basket and, literally, immersed himself in it! I heard a strange noise and looked, and he was digging under all the toys, burying himself in them. He’s too young for catnip, so I’m not sure what it was. Maybe just the smell of the big cats. Maybe just the joy of a basket of toys he could climb into.

Enjoying the toys.

Enjoying the toys.

Next he managed to get under the couch. I have a very low couch which I bought, in part, because it’s so low cats can’t get under it. Clearly, I wasn’t thinking about kittens at the time. Not only that, it’s a sofa-bed and he immediately climbed up into the workings! I froze. I couldn’t sit on it; I couldn’t open it up to get him. I pulled it away from the wall and waited for him to appear. Fortunately, it was both too boring and wouldn’t cuddle him. Still, every time I let him out or he escapes*, he makes a beeline for it.

Reveling in freedom (on the couch)

Reveling in freedom (on the couch)

He’s ecstatic if I let him out to cuddle, but he’s also getting settled enough to have typical manic kitten play bouts. Everything is a toy, including bits of litter, scraps of toilet paper, and his own tail, of course. Sunday morning there was much leaping and prancing and skidding. And beating the shit out of one of the stuffed toys he has! So good to see.

Look at that face!

Look at that face!

He’s been coming to work everyday, to keep him happier. He’s great with the travelling part, sitting quietly in his carrier (even sleeping!) or playing with his tail. He’s a little mischievous once we’re there, though. Any wires/cords are irresistible, and he’s dialled my phone a few times, put my computer to “sleep” twice, and written an email for my co-worker. Pens, pencils, water glasses, coffee mugs, empty boxes, chair/table legs, kleenex, paper, and fingers on keyboards are all fascinating. I don’t think there’s anything that isn’t a toy right now.

His second day at work (photo courtesy of my co-worker, Brendan)

His second day at work (photo courtesy of my co-worker, Brendan)

Came back from a meeting to find my chair occupied!

Came back from a meeting to find my chair occupied!

*escaping the bathroom is his new favourite thing. I have to be very fast to grab him as he comes out. If I miss, he gallops into the living room. I lost him the other morning; he was on the shelf under my black coffee table. He blended perfectly!

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

