It does say “adventures”! Part 2

If you don’t like graphic details about bodily functions, don’t read any further. I gave you cute kitten stories/photos/videos. Go look at them again.

We have poop!!!! And after at least six days and five enemas (!!) THAT is a cause for celebration. I’ve never been so ridiculously happy to scoop poop out of a litter box.

Poor, poor Storm. When last I wrote, we were heading to the vet. We got there (a new vet clinic for TCR and they’re wonderful!) and they took as much history as I know (pretty much nothing) and asked about her behaviour. Now, here’s the thing. Storm had no visible/behavioural signs of distress. She was still playful, affectionate and purr-y. I hadn’t seen her straining in the litter box. I could tell they doubted my diagnosis, but the vet had barely touched her when she drew back and said “Oh boy, is she ever constipated!”. She was full. They practically rushed her into the back for an enema. And let me tell you, I’m sure it’s bad to have one, but I never want to hear that again. I could hear her screaming. Not just crying — screaming. Fortunately, I could also hear the vet and her assistant talking to her; soft and gentle and kind. It turns out she had two large … plugs right at her butt, which the vet had to “manually remove”. I don’t want to know! They could tell that she had some other large, hard pieces in her as well. They gave her another enema while I waited and I took her home with medication and the instructions that if she didn’t poop overnight she had to come back.

Unfortunately, she did not produce. I dropped Storm off and headed to work, thinking I’d pick her up on the way home. No such luck. At least two more enemas during the day did nothing to make the vet happy. So the poor girl had to stay overnight. Apparently, there was a tiny bit of result the next morning, but the day didn’t go well and I was told they were going to keep her another night. Then, at the last minute, the happy call: “She pooped! She can go home.” By the time I picked her up, she’d gone a couple more times. When I arrived, they were just finished bathing her (and advised me not to use clumping litter as she’d be … sticky for a while), so we loaded her up and took her home.

The first thing she did was — and I don’t know how — mark the floor with some liquid (I can only assume from her butt) that has stained the floor! Luckily, it’s the “kids’ playroom flooring” I put down in the segregation room. Washable and easily replaceable. Then she went to sleep. A deep, deep, sleep that she awoke with a startle from, every time I touched her to check on her. She was clearly happy to be home. She was up and about later, using her scratching post (she looooooves her scratching post), playing a little and being her affectionate, purr-y self. She ate supper and we all went to bed — me with my fingers crossed. This morning? Drum roll, please … I had to scoop her litter. So happy.

But we’re not out of the woods yet. I’ll have to watch her closely and we’ll have to figure out if this is an anomaly or if she has a chronic condition.

Many, many thanks to Dr. Amanda Kolhatkar and her team at the York Mills Animal Hospital!

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It does say “adventures”! Part 2

  1. Pingback: Awesome news | Adventures in Cat Fostering

Leave a Reply

