The naming of cats

The Naming of Cats is a difficult matter,

It isn’t just one of your holiday games;

You may think at first I’m mad as a hatter

When I tell you, a cat must have THREE DIFFERENT NAMES.

Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats by T.S. Eliot

 

Three names?? I have enough trouble with one! And T.S. Eliot didn’t know the half of it —  I’m pretty sure he wasn’t a foster caregiver! (Though I did turn to his book for a name once. “Gus”, short for “Asparagus”.)

I find naming my own cats a worrisome task! Can I live with the name? Can they? Do they care? Is it a lame name?  In fact, some of them I didn’t even name, but turned to others for suggestions. Naming fosters is even more complicated. Let’s face it, I’m selling a product here, and hopefully a catchy name is going to help.

Most of them come named — sometimes unfortunately. At any given time, the TCR website has around 150 “Available cats”, listed alphabetically.  Poor “Xavi”; a senior kitty with health issues at the bottom of the alphabet. I wonder how many people actually scroll as far as the Zs before finding one they’re interested in? And then there was “Kitty”. Seriously? You’re an adult and you named your cat “Kitty”?? And “Mountie”! Really?

Occasionally I have the fun (and responsibility) of naming my fosters. Even though I know the names are mostly likely going to be changed, I still take it seriously. My foster coordinator confirmed my guess that names in the upper half of the alphabet are “better”. And less common is good. There are often duplicate names which gets confusing. Recently I saw there was a Charles and a Charlie, both orange tabbies. I’ve seen lots of Bandits and Buddy is very popular! Sam and Sammy are very popular, as are Tom, Tommy, Thomas. So I try for something less obvious, but not weird. Anything that might make someone want to learn more as they’re perusing the very long page of names and photos.

PS. The final tally for TCR adoptions this weekend was 84!! Yay for all those kitties and their new homes. Sadly, Storm was not one of the adoptees. Maybe next time.

About Adventures in Cat Fostering

I am a cat fosterer for Toronto Cat Rescue. I also have two cats of my own, Jonesy, the black and white, and Murphy, the brown tabby, in the photo. Both were adopted from Toronto Cat Rescue.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

